Thank you to all sponsors, attendees and supporters of our annual Daniel H. Burnham Award dinner. And of course, congratulations to Ilene S. Gordon of Ingredion Incorporated on this prestigious honor. Event photos are now available online here:

Burnham Award Dinner 2017


The Daniel H. Burnham Award for Distinguished Leadership was created by the Board of Directors of the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce in 1992 to pay tribute to a prominent business leader who works tirelessly to advance the Chicagoland business climate while making significant civic contributions that make the region a better place to live and work.

The 26th Annual Burnham Award signals a new quarter-century of business and civic leadership in Chicago. Our business community is building on the accomplishments of the “First 25,” who taught the Chicago region and the world how great business leaders can simultaneously be great societal leaders. They are the dreamers, architects and masons of a community ever being built taller, smarter, stronger and more inclusive. What this process looks like is ever-evolving as well. Business and civic leadership in the Burnham Award’s second quarter-century is much different than even a few years ago. The spirit of the Award, though, remains constant. Each honoree is a force both for business and the betterment our community. And like Daniel Burnham himself, they shall “Make no little plans.”

The 2017, and 26th, recipient of the Daniel H. Burnham Award for Distinguished Leadership is Ilene S. Gordon, the Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Ingredion. Click Here for Ilene's Biography.

Ilene Gordon Bio


Previous Honorees & Event Videos

Past Burnham Honorees:

  • W. James McNerney (2016)
  • Frederick H. Waddell (2015)
  • Alejandro Silva (2014)
  • Greg Brown (2013)
  • Ellen M. Costello (2012)
  • John W. Rogers, Jr. (2011)
  • Glenn F. Tilton (2010)
  • John A. Canning, Jr. (2009)
  • John W. Rowe (2008)
  • Norman R. Bobins (2007)
  • W. James Farrell (2006)
  • Miles D. White (2005)
  • Deborah L. DeHaas (2004)
  • William A. Osborn (2003)
  • Alan G. McNally (2002)
  • Ronald J. Gidwitz (2001)
  • Andrew J. McKenna (2000) 
  • Edgar D. Jannotta (1999)
  • Lester Crown (1998)
  • John H. Bryan (1997)
  • Patrick G. Ryan (1996)
  • Arnold R. Weber (1995)
  • James J. O’Connor (1994)
  • Richard L. Thomas (1993)
  • Frank W. Considine (1992)